Drops of Rain – Kathryn Andrews

drops of rainDrops of Rain by Kathryn Andrews

Publisher: Kathryn Andrews, LLC

Publication Date: August 2014

SYNOPSIS:

Ali Rain
Sometimes I think to myself, “How did I get here?” Then the pain hits and I remember…it’s because she’s gone. I now live in a new town, go to a new school, and I’m supposed to be moving on with my new life. Only, I no longer know who I am anymore. Dancing is all I have left and every day I feel completely alone. Silence has become the theme song to my life. She said to find some joy and light, but I don’t know how. Mostly, I feel surrounded in darkness…that is until I meet him.

Drew Hale
I have only one goal, in 298 days I’m going to drive away from this small beach town and never return. People are always watching me closely, too close, and I’m tired of wearing a mask. I need to be free. Swimming is my ticket out of here and I remind myself daily to fly under the radar, stick to my routine, and under no circumstances let anything distract me. I’m not as perfect as they think, most days I am drowning in guilt. I’m not sure I will ever be able to escape the feelings of shame, worthlessness, and just being unwanted…that is until I meet her.

MY REVIEW:

Drops of Rain is Kathryn Andrews’ debut novel, and the first book in the Hale Brothers series.

After the death of her mother, Ali’s father decides it’s time for them to start over. Moving from Colorado to Florida calls for a huge adjustment on Ali’s part, as she knows not a single soul there, and her father’s constant absence has left her with nothing but her dancing to keep her going.

Things change when she meets Drew, her mysterious swimmer, and is drawn to him. Drew Hale doesn’t let anyone get close to him. He doesn’t date, and the only person he trusts enough to get close to is his younger brother, Beau. So, when Drew finds himself sharing a part of himself with Ali that he has never let anyone have, he is surprised. As time goes on, it becomes harder for him to keep Ali at arm’s length.

Soon, Ali and Drew become inseparable. He uses her house as an escape from his abusive father, and she uses his company as an escape from her grief. Later on, things become smoother for the two, when they finally leave for university in New York. Of course, the bad guy (Drew’s father) is dealt with, and Ali’s dad is made to see the error of his neglectful ways. Needless to say, everyone lives happily ever after.

Ali is a character whom one just has to admire her strength, even when things are not going well for her. She knows how to make lemonade when life has clearly given her lemons, and is not resentful towards her father for neglecting her (even though her resentment would be greatly justified). Drew, also, is a great character. He has a bully for a father, and would gladly take neglect over the attention he receives from the man. His situation, however, fuels him to protect his mother and brothers. Drew does not wallow in self pity because of what he suffers; he is sweet, and caring, and loyal. (His close relationship with Beau is another thing that makes him the special person that he is).

Drops of Rain is a story I never get tired of reading again and again. For a debut novel, it is far from what I expected, and the way Kathryn Andrews portrayed her characters and their feelings is just neat. She is obviously a promising author, whose books every New Adult reader would love to read.

One thought on “Drops of Rain – Kathryn Andrews

Leave a Reply

