Friends vs. Family (The Ghost Bird #3) – C.L. Stone

friends vs. familyFriends vs. Family by C.L. Stone

Publisher: Arcato Publishing

Publication Date: August 2013

SYNOPSIS:

Sang Sorenson is forced to suffer through another of her mother’s extreme punishments. It almost kills her. The Academy boys vow it will be the last. They’re determined to keep Sang safe, especially from her own family.

Their solution: complete invasion of her life.

Kota, Luke, Silas, Nathan, Victor, Gabriel and North do everything within their power to show Sang what true loyalty means. It takes more than blood to make a family and they want Sang in theirs.

In this third book of The Academy series Sang experiences a taste of freedom and what it’s like to truly be cared for…to be wanted. Sang learns a bit more about the boys’ broken families and the boys discover more than they could ever have bargained for about Sang’s. The Academy was the answer to their problems. Could it be hers?

Sang’s actions will force her mother to reveal a startling truth. A truth that will change Sang’s life and the boys’ lives in unpredictable ways. Forever.

The Academy, Allegiance

MY REVIEW:

In the third instalment of the Ghost Bird Series, things are certainly more heated. Due to a particularly life threatening “punishment” Sang has to endure at the hands of her mother, the team comes swooping in to the rescue. It is discovered that Mrs. Sorenson has cancer, and Sang, feeling a sort of loyalty I would never understand, decides to stay and help her mother. The boys, of course, are with her every step of the way. About two punishments later, Sang finds out that her “mother” is not really her mother. Of course, that titbit of information sheds some light to why Sang was the only one getting mistreated, while her sister- Marie- was always getting away with stuff.

Let me tell you a little bit about Marie: she’s (for lack of a better word) a bitch. I know I mentioned it before in my review of Introductions, but in Friends vs. Family, I got to see the extent of her bitchiness. Reading about her just made me want to scream, and then punch something, and then scream some more. That being said, it’s clear to me that C.L. Stone is VERY good at inflicting extreme emotions in her readers.

About Sang: it’s becoming clear to me that she is mentally fragile, although, after going through everything she has been through, it’s only natural. With the help of Dr. Green and Mr. Blackbourne, the boys are able to make sure that at least one of them is with Sang at ALL times, even if it means sleeping in her attic. The team becomes Sang’s shield, and together, they build a safe haven for her. Sang is starting to realise how normal people interact, and she’s starting to trust the boys more.

Towards the end of the book, the author confirms what I thought: the boys totally have feelings for Sang. I also got to learn how the “Ghost Bird” title came about (something I’ve been wondering for the past two books).

One thing I really like about this series is how the author has a way of making me be on the teams of different the boys, at different times. When I read the first book, I was all for Team Luke. Then came the second book, and I was rooting for Team Luke and Team Silas. Now, I find myself trying to choose between Luke, Silas, Victor, and Kota. I cannot imagine what Sang is going through in that aspect 😉

The author portrays characters in a way that makes them seem real and believable. I like the fact that the concluding chapter of each book in the series so far, is from the POV of one of the team members. It gives an insight to what The Academy is really all about, and how the boys think.

Friends vs. Family does not disappoint. It’s odd, and sweet, and everything I love in a good read.

One thought on “Friends vs. Family (The Ghost Bird #3) – C.L. Stone

Leave a Reply

