Confess – Colleen Hoover

confessConfess by Colleen Hoover

Publisher: Atria Books

Publication Date: March 2015

SYNOPSIS:

Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

MY REVIEW:

Before I start, I must say that I bought this book because of its pretty cover and glowing reviews. I finished reading it some time ago but I put off reviewing it because I really didn’t know what to say. Don’t get me wrong, it turned out to be an okay read; just not remotely mind blowing.

Confess is about Auburn, who has experienced some painful stuff, and is intent on achieving certain life goals in order to move on. She meets Owen, an artist, and they hit it off immediately. The only problem is Owen is keeping some secrets from her.

The first thing I noticed and loved about this book is the fact that the confessions were submitted by actual people. Cool, right? Then I also noticed the lovely drawings. Colleen Hover’s use of the art works and the confessions is what made me believe I was going to be sucked in entirely by this book.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t. My problem with Confess started with Auburn. She’s the typical New Adult heroine: fragile, innocent, and with a large dose of low self esteem. In fact, her lack of self esteem is so prominent that while reading, I could imagine it pouring out of her mouth with every word she said. To me, Auburn only started fighting for what she believed to be hers when she met Owen. It’s as if when she met Owen, she finally became alive and could start thinking for herself.

I like Owen, though. He is cute and quirky and a bit awkward, which is a break from the usual brooding male NA characters.

My next issue with this book is the nature of the insta-love. I’m usually indifferent to love at first sight, but in this story, I felt that the feelings Owen and Auburn had for each other were too intense to be developed in such a short period. Speaking of feelings, I did not feel much when I was reading this book (and that brings me to the next problem).

In the course of reading this book, I was detached from what was happening. I was merely reading about what happened and I wasn’t part of it. The only parts I felt connected to the story were the parts that showed the confessions. Obviously, this left me feeling very unsatisfied when I finished reading the book.

I admire the author for trying to incorporate some mystery, what with the secrets and all, but I must confess that I wasn’t very impressed when the secrets came out. When everything came out into the open, I was like, “Oh. That’s it??” and the fact that the synopsis of the story made such a big deal about “major secrets” made it all the more disappointing.

Maybe it’s my fault because I expected so much from this book, but can you blame me? EVERYONE was hyping it!

In all, Confess is not a horrible book… it’s just not for me. But lots of other people enjoyed it, so maybe you will as well. 🙂

One thought on “Confess – Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

