Mending Michael (Hunter Hill University #2)- J.P. Grider

Mending Michael coverMending Michael by J.P. Grider

Publisher: Fated Hearts Publishing

Publication Date: December 2014

SYNOPSIS:

There is a fine line between love and hate.

When bartender Mick Ross first sees Holly Buchanan walk into Donny’s Bar, his heart comes to a halt. That is, until she serves him her fake ID and reveals her true nature when she’s declined her drink.

Holly thinks Mick is an ass, and she has no clue why he can’t stand her. Though, she does enjoy looking at his ass.

So, when Donny hires Holly to waitress at his bar, she must either deal with Mick’s hatred toward her or give him a taste of his own medicine.

Tensions are high.
Comments are made.
Hearts are hurt.
But if there really is a fine line between love and hate, then Mick and Holly must decide on which side they stand.

MY REVIEW:

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I read the first book in the Hunter Hill University series, and I ended up not liking it; but since my main reason for not liking Calling California is the heroine herself, I figured the main characters in Mending Michael can’t be as bad.

Michael is a bartender, and a graduate student who is fast approaching the “alcoholic” status. He has a lot to deal with, and the fact that his niece can be taken away from him by the child services only makes matters worse. When he meets Holly, he can’t decide if he should love her or hate her. In the course of their love/hate relationship, Holly becomes an ally and a reason for Michael to “get his shit together”.

My first impression of Holly: She’s a spoiled brat! As soon as I read the first few pages, I thought Holly would be a very irritating character, and she is. It took me a while to warm up to her but when I finally did, I realised that she has insecurities of her own, and only chooses to act bitchy as a front. I like how she develops as a character; and even though her development is slow, it’s profound.

Michael is also a complex character, and I like how at the end of the day, he is able to face his demons and take steps towards bettering himself.

At a point, I felt that Mick and Holly were just assuming too much, which created lots of misunderstandings in their relationship. But they sorted out their issues, and I was able to overlook that. One thing I like about this story is the fact that real life problems are portrayed, and they don’t just magically disappear. Instead, the characters find ways to acknowledge and solve these problems. The writing is smooth and straightforward; and there are some unexpected truths that come to light, and make it easy for me to better understand Holly and Michael.

In all, Mending Michael is a pretty good read with a strong plot and characters that develop realistically. It’s definitely an improvement from Calling California, and I am happy I read it.

banner Lola's Blog Tours

Leave a Reply

