Paper Hearts : Claire Contreras

paper heartsPaper Hearts by Claire Contreras

Publication Date: September 2015

SYNOPSIS:

I lost her. No, I didn’t lose her. I threw her away. She was my best friend. I was never supposed to fall in love with her. I was careless. She was heartbroken. I thought I was doing fine. But here she is, years later, forced to work with me, reminding me why I fell in love with her in the first place. And this time I’m going to do everything in my power to never let her go.

 

MY REVIEW:

I read Paper Hearts sometime last year but kept putting off reviewing it for no actual reason. Funny enough, I didn’t need to brush through it a second time in order to write a comprehensive review; the story is still quite fresh in my head.

Before the actual story begins, there is a really short prequel (Torn Hearts) that takes the place of a prologue in the story. In the prequel, eighteen year old Mia and her beau (twenty two year old Jensen) are enjoying the bliss of a budding romance when Jensen breaks some bad news to Mia that has her heart shattered.

Fast forward to five years later, where Mia is a photographer with a growing career, and Jensen a popular newspaper columnist. When Mia accepts a temporary job in New York, she doesn’t expect to cross paths with Jensen; and so, being partnered with him comes as a not so pleasant surprise. Mia and Jensen have to come to terms with what has happened over the past fives years, and decide if they want to forgive each other and move on.

My favourite part of the story is Jensen Reynolds. He’s sweet, matured, easy going, and very insightful.  Mia on the other hand is scarred from her five year old heartbreak, and obviously still has some trust issues. She is determined and brave.

I love the fact that the love between the characters is so genuine. Paper Hearts is the kind of story where the emotions of the characters have a way of jumping out at the reader so that there is no doubt that the love is real. There is no “teen angst” (Thank God!) and there is a lot of realism in the story.

The writing is also beautifully done, and there’s little to nothing about the story that can be described as cliché.

Over all, Paper Hearts is a story of true, lasting love and second chances. If you’ve read Kaleidoscope Hearts, you can rest assured that though that was a great story, this is even better!

2 thoughts on “Paper Hearts : Claire Contreras

Leave a Reply

