Annabeth Neverending : Leyla Kader Dahm

ANCoverAnnabeth Neverending by Leyla Kader Dahm

Publisher: CreateSpace

Publication Date: December 2015

SYNOPSIS:

At first, teenager Annabeth Prescott thinks she’s found quite a deal when she talks down the price of an ankh pendant she discovers at a flea market. She soon wonders if the bauble is more than she’s bargained for when she faints and glimpses images from a past life in ancient Egypt.

The discovery coincides with another new find: Gabriel, a handsome young man who takes an interest in her. When she meets his twin brother C. J. at a Halloween party, she realizes they look exactly like two boys who figure prominently into her memories.

Does C. J. share the heroic qualities held by his past incarnation Sethe, her bodyguard when she was Princess Ana? Does Gabriel possess the same evil powers he wielded as Kha, the black sorcerer who sought her affection?

Love meets the supernatural in this gripping young adult paranormal romance. Readers with an interest in reincarnation, as well as ancient Egypt, will be drawn to its mystical mixture of history and hesitation as Annabeth sways between the two brothers.

Will her reincarnated soulmate win out? Or will Kha finally find the way to her heart?

MY REVIEW:

*I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I jumped at the opportunity to read and review Annabeth Neverending mostly because I generally like anything that has to do with Ancient Egypt; but also because synopsis sounded quite captivating.

Annabeth is an adopted fifteen year old, who is desperate to find out about her roots and the circumstances surrounding her birth. When she gets a bargain on a seemingly cheap pendant, she begins to have fainting spells that sort of journey her back to Ancient Egypt, where she is the daughter of Pharaoh Ramses. Anna soon starts to believe that she is Princess Ana reincarnate; and this discovery leads her to believe that she’ll somehow be able to discover how she came to be. She also has to choose between two boys, who are connected to her former life in Egypt.

This, for me, was a rather bumpy read. I had started reading it with such joy at the thought of dark magic and Ancient Egypt; but half way through, I found myself considering putting it down. The first thing that didn’t appeal to me is the fact that Anna was overly receptive to the idea of being from a past life. I’d like to think that if I were in possession of a magical pendant, I wouldn’t be so eager to touch it, knowing what it brings on. I also most definitely wouldn’t just pounce on and go with the idea that I was reincarnated. I found Anna’s reaction to be very unrealistic; and the fact that she didn’t even have moments of doubt just irritated me.

Apart from Anna’s less than normal reaction, she’s also not a very mature character. She’s selfish, she doesn’t think, she’s lame, and did I mention that she doesn’t think? I found myself wishing for her to sleepwalk off a bridge, or something (It’s that bad!).

Another thing I don’t exactly like is the fact that the plot didn’t flow well for me. It all seemed like bullet points that were attached to form a story (albeit really interesting bullet points). Things went from extremely fast to agonisingly slow, and then the big reveal at the end just seemed like an afterthought, or something the author probably thought would be a great plot twist. It is a twist; it just wasn’t incorporated very nicely.

Annabeth Neverending isn’t all bad, though. It is a very fantastic idea as far as stories go, and the setting is actually pretty cool. I do love the presence of historical facts about Ancient Egypt, so that’s a bonus for me, I guess.

This book made me sad. It made me sad because it’s obvious to me and anyone else that has read it that it has great potential and is filled with cool ideas. Alas, all that greatness was not realised, and I was left wanting. 😦

 

ButtonXBT

 

Leave a Reply

