Clean Break : Abby Vegas

clean breakClean Break by Abby Vegas

Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing

Publication Date: May 2016

SYNOPSIS:

Lane Haviland can’t seem to catch a break. She’s dead broke, barely functioning as an adult, and completely alone in New York City. Her so-called “apartment” is a six-by-nine cell in a Brooklyn basement. And her new boss hasn’t ever met a personal or professional boundary she can’t bulldoze through.

Still, Lane’s determined to at least attempt to claw her way back to respectability. But she can’t seem to get her mysterious handyman, Viktor, out of her apartment – or her headspace. Maybe that’s a good thing: Viktor’s easy on the eyes, and that deep-voiced Russian accent is beyond sexy. But as he and Lane grow closer, he can no longer hide his connections with a dangerous criminal underworld – where secrets can be deadly.

MY REVIEW:

*I received an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Few things make happier than reading a book that is worth my while. When I looked at my schedule and saw Clean Break, I had a bad feeling about it. Fortunately, my instincts were so wrong.

Lane is broke. She wasn’t always poor, but certain circumstances and spending habits led her to her present state of poverty. What’s more, she has just been scammed and she’s just about to hit rock bottom (and in New York City, too!) Clean Break follows Lane as she tries to pick herself up and make something of the cards she’s been dealt.

I like this book. I like the fact that Lane has a very realistic presence when it comes to her situation, her feelings and her actions. She is very likeable, and I found myself empathizing with her during most of her story. The characters are real, sometimes funny, mostly heart warming, and sometimes heartbreaking.

I wouldn’t say much about the romance for fear of giving too much away, but it’s perfect. The storyline is captivating and realistic; it’s not overdone and it’s not cliché or predictable. Her love interest in itself is a bit surprising, and there is the right dose of hope, angst, humour, and confusion, with a bit of suspense. I like the fact that things are not what they seem to be, and the unexpected twist towards the end of the story is a really nice touch.

In a nutshell, Clean Break is one very lovely read. The author is clearly good at what she does, and I found myself happy and sad, alongside the characters. It’s a beautifully written work, and I have no regrets.

Leave a Reply

